17th Annual FDR Award Winners Announced!

Pete Nischt, Executive Director
Summit County Democratic Party
(330) 608-5358


For Immediate Release

May 17, 2016 – Akron, Ohio - The Summit County Democratic Party has officially announced award recipients for its 17th Annual FDR Dinner, which will feature keynote speakers County Executive Russ Pry, Congresswoman Marcia Fudge, and Congressman Tim Ryan on Thursday, May 19th, at The Tangier in Akron.

Award Recipients are as follows:

Akron Mayor Daniel M. Horrigan, recipient of the Al Teodosio Democrat of the Year Award
Summit County Domestic Relations Court Judge Carol Dezso, recipient of the Jane Quine Democrat of the Year Award
Sarah Rubens, recipient of the Chair’s Distinguished Service Award
Anthony Gomez, recipient of the Chair’s Distinguished Service Award
Bailey Sandin, recipient of the Summit County Young Democrat of the Year Award
Judge James R. Williams, recipient of the Madeline Bozzelli Democrat Lifetime Achievement Award

The Democratic Party will also be creating a new award this year, The Labor Leader of the Year Award, which will be awarded posthumously to the late labor leader and community activist, John Wagner.

“At a time when everything from voting rights, to the right to organize, to the right of women to make their own healthcare decisions is under attack, now more than ever, it is important for us to recognize those who embody the spirit of progressivism by fighting to preserve and protect Democratic values in our communities,” said Summit County Democratic Chair Jeff Fusco. “I am especially proud of our FDR award recipients this year. They are a shining example of everything we stand for and hope to achieve, and I am excited to celebrate their achievements with them this Thursday.”

Tickets to the FDR Dinner may be purchased online at www.SummitDems.org, by mail, or in person. For more information, interested parties may call 330-608-5358.


Showing 2 reactions